Politics and Ideology of "Intellectual Property" and the Knowledge Commons, Brussels, March 20-21

Seth Johnson seth.johnson at RealMeasures.dyndns.org
Sun Mar 5 00:15:21 UTC 2006

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: [Ecommerce] The Politics and Ideology of intellectual
property and the knowledge commons, Brussels, March 20-21
Date: Sat, 4 Mar 2006 13:33:02 +0100
From: James Love <james.love at cptech.org>
To: ecommerce <ecommerce at lists.essential.org>

The Trans Atlantic Consumer Dialogue (TACD) is hosting a 2 day
workshop in Brussels on March 20-21.

The subject is:


The event is open to the public.  Pre-registration is required,
but free.  For more information about event, contact Ben Wallis
(bwallis at consint.org), in the TACD Secretariat.

The program agenda and the list of speakers and panel chairs

Date: March 20-21, 2006
Venue: Hotel Renaissance, Rue du Parnasse 19, Brussels

DRAFT AGENDA, version 3.3

          DAY ONE - March 20

8:30  -  9:00  Registration
9:00 to 9:30   Introduction

9:30   -  11:00  Panel 1: IP and the Knowledge Commons - Rhetoric
and Ideology

11 - 11:15  Break

11:15 - 12:15 PM - Panel 2: : IP and the Knowledge Commons -
Political Parties

12:15 to  2 pm     Lunch

2 - 3:30 - Panel 3: IP and the Knowledge Commons - Lobbying and

3:30 - 3:45  Break

4 to 6 pm - Panel 4: : IP and the Knowledge Commons - Lobbying

        DAY TWO - March 21

9.00 - 10:30 - Panel 5 - : IP and the Knowledge Commons - The
politics of new technologies

10:30  11:00  Break

11:00 to 12:30  - Panel 6   -- IP and the Knowledge Commons -
Politics of Access to Knowledge

2:00 to 3.30   Panel 7  - IP and the Knowledge Commons - new
political paradigms

4:00 to 6 pm  Panel 8 - Concluding comments and reflections

Speakers and Panel Chairs:

Benjamin Coriat, University of Paris
Bruce Lehman, Akin Gump, Strauss Hauer & Feld
Cornelia Kutterer, BEUC
David Hammerstein, Member of the European Parliament
David Lawsky, Reuters
Declan McCullagh, CNET
Ed Mierzwinski, PIRG
Emma Bonino, Member of the European Parliament (TBC)
Eva Lichtenberger, Member of the European Parliament
Felix Cohen, Consumentenbon
Florian Müller, No Software Patents
Hugh Hansen, Fordham University
James Love, The Knowledge Ecology Project
Jim Murrary, BEUC (TBC)
Joelle Roge, WIPO
John Howkins, Adelphi Charter (TBC)
Jonathan Berger, South Africa AIDS Law Project
Jonathan Zuck, Association for Competitive Technology
Kenneth Cukier, The Economist
Luc Soete, United Nations University
Manon Ress, CPTech
Marc Cooper, CFA
Marco Pierani
Mark Cooper, Consumer Federation of America
Michelle Childs, CPTech-UK
Michiel Van der Velde Consumentenbon
Mohamed Ben Ahmed, University of La Manouba, Tunisia
Nicoletta Dentico, DNDi
Peter Drahos, Australian National University
Philippe Aigrain, TRANSVERSALES
Rufus Pollock, FFII (TBC)
Sangeeta Shashikant, Third World Network (TWN)
Sisule Musungu, South Centre
Susan Sell, George Washington University
Tilman Luder, EC  (TBC)
Tom Faunce, Australian National University
Tony Taubman; WIPO

James Love, CPTech / www.cptech.org /
mailto:james.love at cptech.org /
tel. +1.202.332.2670 / mobile +1.202.361.3040

"If everyone thinks the same: No one thinks."  Bill Walton

Ecommerce mailing list
Ecommerce at lists.essential.org

More information about the Discussion mailing list