Letter I have sent all Irish & British MEP's

Alan McMahon pam at indicia.co.uk
Sat Jul 31 14:05:21 UTC 2004

Do you happen to have an up-to-date email list for UK and Irish MEP's?
I've just emailed all UKMEP's, but some are starting to bounce! 

Also, when is the date of the vote, and, is there anything I might say
beyond my rather  cobbled letter of today (attached)

Regards
Alan McMahon
London W4

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.fsfe.org/pipermail/discussion/attachments/20040731/575d941e/attachment.html>
-------------- next part --------------
Dear Mr Van Orden,

The Bloomberg news item below prompted me to email you on the issue of European software patents. I am a civil engineer, with no connection with the computer industry, but I have become  persuaded that what the article describes will become a central strategy of the largest players in the commercial software market, with Microsoft at the fore. 

The patent bank they are scrambling to build amounts to an arsenal of spoilers, which will have the ability to stop competitors' software development in its tracks. That is bad for European information technology, which lags that of the US and Japan, and ultimately will place a universal drag on innovation, from which Europe, if it recognises these patents, will suffer inordinately.  It is essential that we maintain conditions that enable us to  develop our own software identities, to exchange and develop ideas freely, outside of a litigious and uncertain framework, and provide alternatives to the kind of US corporate lock-in that exists on most computer desktops today.  The US has made the mistake of succumbing to the software patent lobby, and will in the long run find innovation inhibited, with the only beneficiaries being the legal profession and patent agents. We must not make the same mistake.